Title Under Header


Monday, February 15, 2016

The 8 Principles of 永 (Yǒng = Forever)

The 1st Chinese word I will have to learn.

永 = yǒng
= "forever"
= "permanence"

1 ~ the Diǎn 點/点
is a dot,
filled from the top, to the bottom,
traditionally made by "couching" the brush on the page

2 ~ the Héng 横
is horizontal,
filled from left to right,
the same way the Latin letters A, B,C,D are written

3 ~ the Shù 豎/竖
, is vertical-falling.
The brush begins by a dot on top, then falls downward.

4 ~ the Gōu 鉤/钩
, ending another stroke, 
is a sharp change of direction
either down (after a Heng)
or left (after a Shù)

5 ~ the Tí 提
, is a flick up and rightwards

6 ~ the Wān 彎/弯
, follows a concave path on the left or on the right

7 ~ the Piě 撇
, is a falling leftwards (with a slight curve)

8 ~ the Nà 捺
, is falling rightwards (with an emphasis at the end of the stroke)

9 ~ the Xié 斜
is sometimes added to the 永's strokes.
It's a concave Shù falling right,
always ended by a Gōu,
visible on this image).




No comments: